Visit Venice – R.I. Story Places

The scenes that drop today: they are some of my favorites. Kwynn sees some stuff she’s never seen before and we meet a new character. (And, this character, you gotta meet him to know. We’ll see more of him one way or the other.)

Thanks to all who are reading. If you haven’t started, the story is there waiting for you anytime.

So far: Kwynn is in jeopardy after she hacked a place she wasn’t supposed to. Nobody knows why, but someone or something is sabotaging the grid and she’s to blame. In her quest to discover what’s been hiding in plain sight she, and Los Angeles, will never be the same.

We’ve also met Glen fighting to save the grid and his family.

Plus, Murray, the wayward PI, he can’t help but continue to get himself in trouble.

Today’s scenes have the California summer vibe where we

Visit Venice Beach http://www.visitveniceca.com/

And something goes down at Santa Monica Pier https://www.santamonicapier.org/

Come read! The first three are free – or you can jump in anytime, anywhere. These scenes especially. Some amazing things are starting to roll.

Ukraine Electrical Grid

Episode 9 of Reaping Independence drops today! In one of the chapters a computer is taken over while they are working on it at the Power Center. It’s chilling to imagine the grid taken over by terrorists but in this video that’s exactly what happened in Ukraine on December 23, 2015.

This situation, and others like it, are part of what inspired some of the events in Reaping Independence.

But, I promise, it’s a bit of a ride and, as of yet, the two were not caused by the same bad actors.

Read my serialized novel: Reaping Independence

Art in my mind

Someone asked me about an artist mentioned in Episode 3 of Reaping Independence: Who is Noah Purifoy and was he really an artist? Yes, he was an accomplished artist that made a difference. The artworks mentioned exist.

Here’s a look at them:

His legacy lives on. You can read about him, the outdoor museum and his legacy here: http://noahpurifoy.com/about-noah

His art says so much. “Junk art, assemblage art … it’s as close to human existence because it’s all castoffs we are utilizing here,” Noah Purifoy once said. What if L.A. didn’t throw people away?

https://www.latimes.com/lifestyle/image/story/2021-05-26/remembering-noah-purifoy-and-his-art-of-the-disposable

Thanks for reading and keep reaching out! I love hearing what you think of Kwynn and rest

🤯

One of many beginnings

Many things influence the journey to writing. Like life itself, we take a circuitous route.

There’s this terrific fabulist noir book of Ray Bradbury’s: Death is a Lonely Business.

I had a teacher in high school named Sheila Kasprzyk. (https://www.facebook.com/sheila.kasprzyk/tributes) She was a wonderful teacher, rest her soul.

An aside. In double checking the spelling, I found another person who mentioned Sheila Kasprzyk at San Clemente High School. But he’s had a lot more success at his story telling. Let’s name drop:

There are many teachers that helped me realize some potential along the way. Most I couldn’t hear, or believe, until I looked backwards. At the time, she saw something I didn’t see in myself. Of the many papers we wrote for her class, one was a book review. You can guess what I picked. I’ll get to more about the book in a minute.

When I got the review back, Mrs. Kasprzyk wrote, “Finally. This is what I’ve been looking for from you. Where has this been?” Something of the sort.

There was more but I got an A. I couldn’t please her before and now I cranked something out and she praised it. Not only that, she let me know that she saw potential in me. Something I did not have for myself.

For me: decent grades sure. But no real interest in school.

To paraphrase Maurice Ruffin: When you write, you honor all those who encouraged your writing. People don’t waste their breathe. They meant it when they said you had a gift.

Now, believe me when I say that I still remember her comments. Her belief. Her effort.

When I re-read Death is a Lonely Business recently, I was surprised to see an influence on my first novel, Reaping Independence. The Venice canals, the pier, the beach. Bradbury’s storytelling among many others. Many, many others. But in the most recent chapter that posted in this serialized novel, there’s that sense of magic in the movies and place. Santa Monica. Hollywood. The people.

So what am I getting at?

A couple of things. You never know what the encouragement you share could mean to someone. (Same with the discouragement but that’s another story for another time.)

A book, some thought and a few well placed words influenced something I made ~30 years later.

What else am I getting at?

Well, go read my book. Just a chapter. You can do a chapter at a time and it’s just getting started. In fact, a new chapter dropped today. Go on. Give me a read. It’s a romp. Maybe you’ll see something in it like a teacher did in me a long (long) time ago.

Serialized Stories

There’s a long history of serialized novels but what interested me most recently was The Martian by Andy Weir.

Not only did it spawn a great movie directed by one of my old bosses (Ridley Scott), it was a terrific book in its own right.

I heard an interview of Andy Weir by James Altucher on his podcast and had to read the book.

(Here’s the link if you’re interested: https://jamesaltucher.com/…/ep-92-andy-weir-the…/ )

Weir started publishing and people really liked what he was doing so, of course, he kept going. Publishing week by week. He published to his website and then posted the entire book to Amazon. People were excited and shared the book with friends. Eventually he garnered interest from publishers and producers. Good for him, right?!

Weir serialized some other stories: some fan fiction, a Sherlock Holmes. He has also become successful with two more published novels and I can only imagine more on the way.

Anyway, I love the idea of telling a story over time. There are so many cool aspects of the process of stretching the story out. Anticipation, cliffhangers, even changing the story as we go along. Also feedback on what’s happening.

I will probably talk some more about other serialized books but wanted to let you know a little about what I’m up to. Which is sharing some info about reading and introducing my story with you.

If you’re of the mind, start reading my tale about Kwynn, Glen and Murray. It’s a quest of power and blackouts. It’s set up to read a little at a time. No big commitments. And hop on or off anytime. It on your device’s Kindle app. Thanks for reading.

Potential Market

An agent just asked me what the potential market for my book was. I gave a short answer. Now I wish I gave a longer one, so, here it is:

The potential market for this book, Reaping Independence, even comparable titles for this book, are varied, of course. As I mentioned in the query, Fans of Chuck Wendig’s “Wanderers”, Analee Newitz’s “Autonomous” and John Scalzi’s “Head On” as well as admirers of David Mitchell’s storytelling and William Gibson’s technology would find something to admire. Continue reading “Potential Market”